How To Bet On The IPL

The Indian Premier League is the most popular cricket league worldwide. Millions of people watch the games. With more betting sites than before that allow Indian bettors to wager on IPL matches, now could be an excellent time to improve your betting skills and start winning money.

However, success in cricket betting takes more than just picking a winner or two. You need to learn how odds work and what makes a bet valuable to be successful. Read on as we explain all you need to know about betting on the IPL.

Understanding the IPL Format

The main difference between IPL cricket and other formats is the shorter game length. The league uses the T20 format, created in the 2000s, to make cricket faster-paced and more exciting. Unlike Test or ODI cricket, IPL features each team batting just once for two innings and only bats for 20 overs. As you learn to stake on IPL, keep in mind strategies change with the shorter game.

Like other cricket, it has special fielding restrictions. But T20 also limits bowlers to 4 overs maximum per inning. So, the teams rotate bowlers regularly. This affects specific prop bets, like which bowler takes the most wickets. Another unique T20 rule is the tiebreaker: if tied at the end, there’s a 1-over-per-team “Super Over” to determine the winner.

Indian Premier League Structure

The league has eight teams. In the regular season, the teams play against each other twice in a round-robin format. The top four teams make the playoffs In the end. The playoffs offer exciting cricket and are a good place to learn to bet on IPL matches and make predictions.

In the playoffs, the #1 and #2 seeds play head-to-head, with the Sportsbook going straight to the final. The loser plays the Sportsbook of another match between the #3 and #4 seeds to decide the other team in the final. This structure makes the later tournament games very exciting to bet on.

IPL Betting Markets

You can stake on the overall outcome of the matches or specific events within the matches. Here are some examples:

  • Coin Toss: Some sportsbooks let you pick the team to win the coin toss to determine who bats and bowls first.
  • Total Wickets: You can choose which bowler will take the most and which squad will take more, or you can make a specific prediction about the number of wickets.
  • Total Ducks: Because T20 cricket is faster paced, you can also stake on batsmen getting “ducked out” – retired with 0 runs.
  • Player of the Match: This is where you predict who will win Man of the Match honors.
  • Runs on First Ball: Bet how many runs will be scored on the first ball bowled.
  • Other Bets: Many betting sites offer other ways to bet, like whether the total will be odd/even, over/under a set amount, and more.

How To Place An IPL Bet Online

Placing an online bet on the games is straightforward. Just follow these steps:

  1. Sign up for an account with the betting website you choose.
  2. Add funds to your account before selecting “Cricket” from the menu.
  3. Pick the specific match you want to bet on or an “outrights” long-term bet.
  4. Place your wagers after reviewing the offered odds and understanding how they work. Start small as you learn.

How Do the Betting Odds Work?

IPL sites may list odds in Decimal, Fractional, or American formats. American odds show the favorite with a negative number and the underdog as positive. The negative number indicates how much you must bet on the favorite to profit $100. The positive number shows how much you would benefit by betting $100 on that underdog. This helps you calculate potential winnings for each team based on the odds.

Bottom Line

Now that you understand the format, betting markets, and how to place bets online, you can start testing your cricket knowledge. As you gain experience, continue learning more to improve your strategies. With smarts and practice, you’ll grow into a skilled IPL bettor.